Nissan Pathfinder Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I'm not an expert on trailer hitches nor have I ever used one before. I don't use it to haul anything, its basically there to keep the tailgaters at a distance. My question is, when I go over any sort of bump with my PF, the hitch makes this large thump sound, is there any way to secure it so it does not shake like that at all, to sort of seal it so there is no movement whatsoever? Hopefully my question is understood.

·
Super Moderator
4,005 Posts
The Pathfinder hitch receiver is 2" wide. What is the width of the hitch you have? I'm guessing it might be 1 1/4? You could wrap something waterproof around the shank (a section of bike tube would be ideal) before you shove it in. That should stop the rattle.

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The Pathfinder hitch receiver is 2" wide. What is the width of the hitch you have? I'm guessing it might be 1 1/4? You could wrap something waterproof around the shank (a section of bike tube would be ideal) before you shove it in. That should stop the rattle.
The size of my hitch is exactly the only thing that can fit in there. I like the idea of the bike tube since it is rubber and hopefully it can stop the rattling. Mind you, the only time it does rattle is when I go over a speed bump or something like that, while Im driving it doesnt rattle at all.

·
Registered
345 Posts
The easy way to tell what is rattling is just to stand and carefully rock up or down or side to side on the hitch and see what vibrates.. is it the install? Or is it the bar you have plugged into the hitch?

2013 Nissan Pathfinder SL
2002 BMW 325XI

·
Registered
181 Posts
Is that one of those Harbor Freight Tools specials? It looks cool painted fluorescent yellow!

Thing is- A hitch is pretty much always going to rattle a bit in the receiver when the vehicle goes over bumps. More of a clunk if you've actually got a trailer's weight on it.