Nissan Pathfinder Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! We own a 2014 Pathfinder S and have purchased a Keystone Summerland Mini 1800BH. Its dry weight is 3270 and has a hitch weight of 450lbs. I did all the calculations and its about 600lbs below the 5k tow rating and we are good as long as we don't load up the vehicle.

We have a stabilizer hitch installed and it balances the load alright but I'm still getting some dip in the back. I have no problem pulling it up hills or anything on back roads but it feels a bit squirrelly on the highway. I'm also noticing a lot of bounce in the back around 55 MPH I'm new to towing this much weight so its not like I have a whole lot of confidence at the moment and was wondering what would be the best thing to start with.

I have looked up a few things....new Struts, etc. The one thing that stands out is the Coil-Rite Air Helper springs. Has anyone had much experience with these? Should I start with these or does it make more sense to go with a new Strut instead or as well?

Thanks in advance fore the help :)

·
Super Moderator
2013 Pathfinder SL, Connecticut, USA
4,253 Posts
Congratulations on both of your purchases!

One of the things that we as R52 platform Pathfinder owners are finding is that there are not a lot of options for us out there for rear suspension improvements. Some have looked at using air bags, but again, only a couple of manufacturers make anything that will fit our vehicles. Weight distribution hitches help immensely, but the vehicle still sags noticeably even so.

Feeling a tug over bumps and dips is normal for pulling a trailer, but it should not be swaying at all. Most WDHs come with an anti-sway bar as an attachment.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3