Nissan Pathfinder Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone. So we have a new 2020 Pathfinder with a rating of 6000 lb towing capacity. We just ordered a boat and hoping the Pathfinder will handle it well on the boat ramp pulling it out. We think it’ll be fine but as a first time boat owner, we are nervous about the unknown... We have a 21 foot outboard with a dry weight of 3400. Assuming 1000 ish for the trailer with tandem axle and disc brakes, gear and fuel probably bringing it close to 5000 total lbs... We should be fine on the boat ramp, right? It is a 2 wheel drive but has the towing button option down below the steering wheel (haven’t looked into exactly what that does yet)...

Any and all advice appreciated. Want to be well prepared when we get the boat in a few months! Sorry for the dumb questions! Total newbie here....

·
Super Moderator
2013 Pathfinder SL, Connecticut, USA
4,393 Posts
You might find it a bit challenging for your FWD to pull that boat out of the water depending on how wet and steep the ramp is. If you had 4WD, you could put it in LOCK to get you out easily.

The Tow button will not help you in this case. It is used to increase engine compression on downhill ascents and to prevent the transmission from using overdrive.

Reactions: TejasMtnBiker

·
Registered
2019 Nissan Pathfinder SV 4x4
679 Posts
Totally depends on how the boat launches are that you will be using. Do you see a lot of medium sized FWD based SUVs dropping and retrieving boats there?

My personal opinion is 4500lbs worth of boat/trailer is a bit for this vehicle on a crappy launch, but it should work fine at a launch with a gradual grade and good traction.

·
Registered
24 Posts