Nissan Pathfinder Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Quick background: I’m mostly a Toyota guy. Have bought 4 so far. Currently have A 2011 Sienna XLE in the garage. I also have a Honda CRV right now (my first Honda). Good vehicle--75K miles and no problems at all. Our family of 5 has simply outgrown it as a second vehicle.

Was planning on buying the redesigned 2014 Toyota Highlander. However, the Pathfinder has caught my eye.

A few quick questions for anyone willing to answer:

Generally, how is Nissan reliability? I have no experience whatsoever. I know I a see a ton of Nissans on the road. Reliability is far and away the number 1 priority for me. It’s not even close.

The CVT--thoughts? Long term prognosis? Problems expected? Seems that the CVT is a big reason for the good gas mileage but if you look on some auto forums, some people just hate the CVTs? I will say my least favorite thing about my CRV is the tranny--really herky jerky.

What is the oil change frequency? Both my Honda and Toyota are 10K mile synthetic oil and I love it. Initial research indicate the Pathfinder is more frequent?

Any insight would be appreciated I will likely wait for reveal photos and specs on the Highlander regardless but I think the Pathfinder may be a real option.

·
Registered
34 Posts
I'll do my best to answer each question. A little about me, we bought a 13 Pathfinder SL 4wd, it now has around 750 miles on it. We traded in a Chevrolet Trailblazer, which was by far the worst vehicle I have ever owned- I could go into it but that isn't what you're asking. LONG time Honda/Acura driver, my car is a 2005 TL, owned since new and won't be getting rid of it anytime soon. The Pathfinder is my wifes truck.

First, I looked at EVERYTHING. From $70k on down. I narrowed it down to 5 based on my research and test drives. They were-
1. Pathfinder
2. MDX
3. 4Runner
4. RDX
5. CX-9